Essential Fatty Acids And Polyunsaturated Fatty Acids

There are four families of polyunsaturated fatty acids (n-9, n-7, n-6, and n-3) (figure 1), of which only the n-6 and n-3 are essential fatty acid (EFA) series. Thus all the EFAs are polyunsaturated and only include linoleic acid (LA) (n-6) and alpha-linolenic acid (ALA) (n-3), due to the fact

Cancer Metastasis, Molecular and Cellular Mechanisms and Clinical Intervention, 225-250. © 2000 Kluwer Academic Publishers. Printed in the Netherlands.

delta-9-dcsatunise delta-6-dcsaiu rase —^

delta-5-desaiurasc delta -4-desaturase

(alpha linoleruc acid)

(eicosapentaittoic acid)

(docosahcxaenoic acid)

(Lmolcic acid)

(gamma linotenic acid)

(dihomosamma linoteic acid)

(aiachidonic acid)

0 0

Post a comment